Why I Love What I Do.

According to the Gallup Strengths Profile I have a combination of Futuristic, Achiever, and Impatience…that last one is actually according to my mom, not Gallup, but you get the point. Anyway, those Strengths cause me to think about the future, fantasize about it actually, and strive to get there quickly so I can get a lot of stuff done. I want to change the world into a place where everyone wakes up in the morning and goes to a job they enjoy so much that they can’t help but to volunteer to do their best every.single.day. I know,                                                                  I’m sort of a cheese ball but I believe it can happen.

And I want it to happen today.

So I spend a lot of time worrying that I’m not getting into the future fast enough, that I’m not driving enough change, that enough people aren’t being positively impacted by the experiences I have to share. In fact, my coach tells me every time we talk that I have to remember to focus on walking today and running tomorrow.

But walking takes so damn long.

So I pretty much spend my entire day obsessing over why I haven’t yet achieved my tomorrow.

Except when I’m coaching. I realized years ago that when I’m sitting in a coaching session helping people figure out their tomorrows’ I’m really quite content. All of a sudden that set of Strengths helps both of us figure out what is bothering them, what they need to do in order to drive change, and what their goals for tomorrow need to be. It’s refreshing.

And over the years I’ve realized that when I can successfully coach leaders to become stronger, more understanding, more open minded people then I am, in fact, changing the world because that leader has the power to change the lives of every employee they lead.

That’s why I love coaching.

Marisa is a leadership coach, management trainer, and motivational speaker on all things Culture and Engagement.  She has helped lead the culture and engagement initiatives at two nationally recognized great places to work; Rackspace as Culture Maven and Modea as Talent Manger. Today Marisa consults, coaches, and leads seminars for organizations looking to increase productivity by focusing on management training and employee engagement.

About Marisa

Marisa Keegan is a leadership coach, trainer, and HR consultant for quickly growing organizations who are passionate about strengthening their employees, their brand, and their culture. She has helped lead the HR, culture, and engagement initiatives at two nationally recognized great places to work; Rackspace as Culture Maven and Modea as Talent Manger. She is an author at Fistful of Talent and Culture Fanatics. Marisa has her Masters in Industrial Organizational Psychology and currently lives with her husband and twin boys in Richmond, Virginia.
This entry was posted in Coaching, Marisa Keegan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

